Is beeswax a vegetarian product?

A vegetarian product may be produced by animals or insects but not contain animal flesh itself. For example, vegetarians often consume eggs, honey, and dairy products.

By this definition, beeswax can be considered a vegetarian product, as it’s made by bees but doesn’t contain bees themselves.

However, determining whether beeswax is vegan requires a further look into the definition of veganism.

While some companies harvest beeswax in a way that aims to protect bees from harm, the processes used don’t come without risk of hive disruption, damage, or accidental bee death.

Furthermore, some people believe that disturbing animals or their habitats or taking something from them without their direct consent does not align with the principles of veganism.

Based on this definition, even if beeswax is removed from hives in a way that avoids harming the bees directly, it’s still removed without their direct consent.

Hence, while beeswax can be considered a vegetarian substance, it’s not truly a vegan ingredient.

Therefore, if you are a vegan, NeuEve suppositories and blam may not be suitable for you. However, if you are a vegetarian but not a vegan, you may use these products because beeswax can be considered a vegetarian substance.

We have a vegan product. It is callled Feminine moisture support (sea buckthorn oil). You may find this article helpful:

I am vegan. Do you offer a product that does not contain beeswax?

For more information on beeswax and veganism, you may find this article helpufl:

May 27, 2023

Contact Us

Not finding what you're looking for? Contact Us Directly